vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-11-22, 11:08:47

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 2016-11-10, 6:18:46 

Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2016-03-26, 17:18:14
Posts: 12
https://vgmrips.net/packs/companies

The page has images of different companies' logos on it, and text versions of the company names, but it might not look ideal because of the different sizes of the logos, so it might be better to keep all of the company names as text.

Also, more important reason (for me) of using text only is that using ctrl + f to find a specific company doesn't work with those companies that have logos. I think you could fix that without removing the images if you wanted them, though, by having a table cell with transparent text or something.

It's a minor nitpick, though, and probably won't have a huge impact on useability.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-11-10, 7:24:29 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2015-11-01, 22:18:27
Posts: 25
Location: Canada
gotanda wrote:
... Also, more important reason (for me) of using text only is that using ctrl + f to find a specific company doesn't work with those companies that have logos. ...
This is a bit of a thing for me as well.

I could see one benefit for listing both logos and the according company name in text form (perhaps positioned on the right side of the logo): for example, Ryokusui Software is listed with its logo, but it's not immediately apparent for those not in the know that that logo stands for Ryokusui Software unless there is some text there to clarify (or they click through).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-11-10, 20:59:42 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Ball Fondlers Ball Fondlers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2014-01-28, 5:51:54
Posts: 518
fixed


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-11-10, 21:32:18 

Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2016-03-26, 17:18:14
Posts: 12
Thanks. It looks better now and it's more convenient to use.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-11-11, 1:37:46 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2015-11-01, 22:18:27
Posts: 25
Location: Canada
Great! Thanks from me too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-11-11, 6:09:33 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-01-03, 2:10:28
Posts: 274
I think that it is convenient for companies (sound chip and system and composers) to have an alphabet filter.
Is there no plan to add it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-11-11, 7:55:34 

Contributors Contributors
Staff Staff
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2013-07-17, 23:32:39
Posts: 222
An alphabet filter would be a nice thing. In the meanwhile you could always use Ctrl+F... This works on the composer page, but it doesn't fully work on the company page due to the aforementioned issue with logos.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-11-11, 19:38:03 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2015-11-01, 22:18:27
Posts: 25
Location: Canada
ctr wrote:
An alphabet filter would be a nice thing. In the meanwhile you could always use Ctrl+F... This works on the composer page, but it doesn't fully work on the company page due to the aforementioned issue with logos.
Well, Vampi fixed the logo thing; one can Ctrl+F on the company page just fine now.

Anyways, I also think an alphabet filter would be nice.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group