vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-11-24, 15:00:53

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 282 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-05-30, 19:22:19 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2853
Location: Germany
Yeah, sorry. Blame my lack of GUI designing skills for that. (or let's just say I don't like making GUIs)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-05-30, 21:32:47 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-01-03, 2:10:28
Posts: 274
You can try foobar's foo_input_vgm.
Attachment:
File comment: foobar
foo_input_vgm_chip.jpg
foo_input_vgm_chip.jpg [ 136.19 KiB | Viewed 1188 times ]



BTW:The following message is displayed and you can not send the file (foo_input_vgm_v0.27.7z) to my post.
Quote:
Sorry, the board attachment quota has been reached.

Edit: I attached a file.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-10-17, 22:35:03 
Offline

Joined: 2016-05-13, 23:55:38
Posts: 45
I noticed now that drum samples for YM2151 tracks sound a bit better in the site player and in vgmplay than in winamp, so a couple of questions:
1. Can I mute individual channels with it?
2. Can it export to wav or other formats?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-10-18, 7:36:55 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2853
Location: Germany
You can enable WAV logging and mute channels by editing VGMPlay.ini. Just open it with notepad, every setting is commented.

VGMPlay and in_vgm should sound identical.If there are differences, you either use different versions or it is due to configuration settings. (sample rate, emulated chip sample rate, resampling mode, ...)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-10-18, 18:24:04 
Offline

Joined: 2016-05-13, 23:55:38
Posts: 45
I updated to the latest version of in_vgm for winamp but there's no difference, it's less clear in winamp. My settings are the default: https://i.imgur.com/Jtb4kOV.png

I can't record on my PC for a direct comparison but here's a 48khz 16-bit stereo wav export from winamp of the first minute of S1 from Dragon Saber: https://ufile.io/f7j5w

Edit: Logging and muting in VGMPlay works, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-10-18, 21:33:54 

Contributors Contributors
Bug catchers Bug catchers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-28, 19:52:40
Posts: 206
Location: Paris, France
The distorsion seems to be the result of overclipping. Try reducing the plugin's volume to 0 dB.

If that fails, you could maybe choose a higher sample rate (I'm using 192000 Hz) with the mode "Highest, FM Native".

_________________

Sega PCM [1985/1989] | Namco C140 [1987/1990] | Hudson HuC6280 [1987/1995] | Yamaha YM2608 [1988/1996] | Oki MSM6295 [1988/1998]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-10-19, 0:54:50 
Offline

Joined: 2016-05-13, 23:55:38
Posts: 45
Good idea but I don't really notice a difference between 0 or even ~10 dB in terms of the distortion. Comparing just the snare (ch17) to VGMplay the samples are a bit distorted there as well, only slightly less perhaps. The main difference seems to be the amount of treble on the samples, there's quite a bit more in VGMplay and the site player than in winamp.

I'll try the other thing.

Edit: Thanks, it was the chip sample mode setting, with "highest, fm native" used the drum samples sound identical to VGMplay as far as I can tell.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: compiling from sources
PostPosted: 2017-10-28, 19:07:27 
Offline

Joined: 2016-08-03, 22:36:09
Posts: 15
Woah! I did compiled in_vgm plug-in with Visual Studio Community 2017 version 15.4.1 running on a Windows 7 64-bit machine.
Such a trip (some afternoon hours) on my seat ... so much things I lucky tried and they acted together! :beer:

Do anyone look at compiling warnings and/or some other CD/CI stuff/duties ? :bath:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-10-29, 10:43:15 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2853
Location: Germany
Ah, yeah, I can imagine that upgrading the VC6 project to VS2017 (which is 19 years younger!) is quite a ride.
For a VC6 -> VS2010 (and higher) upgrade, I would probably just recreate the project from scratch, readd all files and port some settings from the old project.

About compiler warnings: I often ignore warnings about precision loss, because VC6 spams them everywhere. But I tried to reduce the amount of warnings GCC throws.
About CI: This might be a possibility for the libvgm-based VGMPlay rewrite. But I don't intent to do automatic releases for each commit on GitHub. Releases with a set version number make bug reporting easier.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-10-29, 13:15:37 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Ball Fondlers Ball Fondlers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2014-01-28, 5:51:54
Posts: 523
I think CI means compile each commit, but not release each commit. I think CI and releases are two separate things IIRC.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-10-29, 16:30:17 
Offline

Joined: 2016-08-03, 22:36:09
Posts: 15
I did the same thing for VGMPlay.exe, i.e. I compiled VGMPlay.exe with Visual Studio Community 2017 version 15.4.1 running on a Windows 7 64-bit machine.
I followed the same pattern, which is not ortodox at all, but it works for me, of mixing both
Windows Kits 8.1, which i think it is main target since I set on General panel Windows SDK version 8.1 for myWindows 7 machine
and adding libraries directory search path
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Lib\10.0.16299.0\ucrt\x86
C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\bin\10.0.16299.0\x86\ucrt
in order to link latest ucrt.lib;vcruntime.lib;

Before that I always used VGMPlay compiling it with MinGW64 from Lavavej( https://nuwen.net/mingw.html )/MSYS on Windows boxes and GNU gcc on Ubuntu GNU/Linux boxes. Now I can try with MSYS2.

Bye!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-11-09, 15:29:00 
Offline

Joined: 2016-05-13, 23:55:38
Posts: 45
Is it just for me or can the second chip for 2x Multi PCM soundtracks not be accessed for muting or disabling? Tried in winamp so far.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 282 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group