vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-08-23, 23:16:29

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 100 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-07-29, 21:01:19 

Contributors Contributors
Bug catchers Bug catchers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-28, 19:52:40
Posts: 189
Location: Paris, France
:homer:

Maybe I don't get it, but why would you want to log Amiga music in VGM?

_________________

Sega PCM [1985/1989] | Namco C140 [1987/1990] | Hudson HuC6280 [1987/1995] | Yamaha YM2608 [1988/1996] | Oki MSM6295 [1988/1998]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-08-04, 17:39:54 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Online
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2772
Location: Germany
Yeah, I didn't make a new VGM modded MAME for quite a while.
I have yet to convince myself to install their most-recent toolchain. (They seem to redo their toolchain every few months.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-08-19, 5:01:54 
Offline

Joined: 2016-08-17, 21:01:18
Posts: 1
MAMEdev has flipped the script on this - the next version will *play* VGM/VGZ rips.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-08-23, 17:58:15 
Offline

Joined: 2013-05-25, 16:31:02
Posts: 6
Kaminari wrote:
:homer:

Maybe I don't get it, but why would you want to log Amiga music in VGM?


I listen to them in native but the VGM Rips website only does VGM.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-08-26, 9:15:58 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Online
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2772
Location: Germany
This still leaves the question: Why you would want to have VGMs of Amiga MOD files?
(Logging MODs to VGM is pretty pointless IMO, since MOD is 1. the more popular format and 2. can be played back perfectly without emulation.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-08-26, 21:44:00 

Contributors Contributors
Staff Staff
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2013-07-17, 23:32:39
Posts: 189
And for the games that don't have MOD format music, UADE supports a *lot* of various Amiga sound formats, even playing them back using their original sound driver.

There is a MOD to VGM converter, but it was mainly designed for people wanting to play back MODs on a real MSX with the Moonsound expansion cartridge.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-08-31, 13:02:28 
Offline

Joined: 2016-05-13, 23:55:38
Posts: 30
So how do I use this? I just want to check what sound chip these games are using for now:
Main Event, Gradius III, Devastators, MIA, SPY, Punk Shot

Edit: Ok so it's in the machine info. Didn't see a chip mentioned for Main Event though, is it samples only then?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-08-31, 15:29:18 

Contributors Contributors
Bug catchers Bug catchers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-28, 19:52:40
Posts: 189
Location: Paris, France
Like Gradius 3, I believe the audio chip of Main Event is a Konami K007232.

_________________

Sega PCM [1985/1989] | Namco C140 [1987/1990] | Hudson HuC6280 [1987/1995] | Yamaha YM2608 [1988/1996] | Oki MSM6295 [1988/1998]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-09-01, 12:30:31 
Offline

Joined: 2016-05-13, 23:55:38
Posts: 30
Yes, though Gradius III also uses YM2151. I guess TME is samples only then, but it doesn't quite sound like it to me.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8kGukHeuzo


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-07-01, 11:43:01 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Online
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2772
Location: Germany
I posted this previously on IRC, but since I still have trouble getting my current MAME VGM mod to work correctly, I'll just leave this here.

MAME 0.181 VGM mod beta: Win64 Binary / Source Diff.
It's "beta", because dumping the sample ROM doesn't work for half of the chips due to me having trouble to figure out how to dump the data.
The MAME devs did some significant changes to the internal structure and I still don't know how to obtain the actual sample ROM size.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 100 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ValleyBell and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group