vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-11-19, 8:36:47

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 99 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-26, 6:42:46 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
I found the bug - there was a typo in the ROM data reading routine of the UPD7759 core. I'll update VGMPlay later today.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-26, 21:31:08 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
I updated M1. It's just a small bugfix that fixes the bug that prevented games like Salamander 2 from playing anything if changing the song and with VGM logging enabled.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-27, 4:26:22 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
Sexy Parodius works now, but Twinbee Yahhoo still does not. Actually, it's entirely silent.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-28, 4:07:11 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
And one more suggestion: A timer that tells you how long you've been playing a track. This would be especially helpful for looping purposes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-28, 11:12:51 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
And yet another bug. I tried ripping VGMs for Voltage Fighter Gowcaizer, but quite a few of them are missing instruments. Mainly the samples.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-28, 13:18:14 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
Can you name a few tracks, please? The Opening song seems okay.

Also: Are they missing in M1 in general, or just in the VGM.
And in the former case: Does it work if you don't have VGM logging enabled?


About games being completely silent: If it doesn't work with VGM logging off, I likely can't do anything.
If it works in an offical build of M1, I can compare the sources between the two versions and maybe fix it, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-28, 13:27:48 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
For Gowcaizer: Plays fine in M1, it's just the VGMs that are logged. It can be noticed in "Player Select", "Captain Atlantis Theme", and "Fudomaro Theme".

As for Twinbee: It plays fine with VGM logging off. Except for the first track which is still silent.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-28, 13:30:03 
Offline

Joined: 2011-11-30, 17:26:44
Posts: 457
Location: Italy
ValleyBell wrote:
If it works in an offical build of M1, I can compare the sources between the two versions and maybe fix it, though.
Is there any hope for Tumblepop, then? I'm not sure if FoxM1's source is public, though.

_________________
My webhost decided to shut down most of my webspace without a warning. If you find any broken Digilander link in any of my posts (basically all of them should be), please inform me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-28, 15:35:38 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56
Posts: 84
Valley Bell, would it be possible to add a 'turbo' logging mode, which would log the VGMs as fast as possible to emulate the system (without sound output). Would work nicely with a set duration to log (say, 10 minutes), after which you could trim the resulting files with vgmlpfnd et al.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-28, 23:34:54 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
IIRC I already thought about that a long time ago, but never tried to do it.

I'm using Windows 7, so I simply muted M1 and made it play each song for some minutes (via list files) while doing other things.
This should also work on Vista, but it doesn't work in XP or lower.

But that would be a nice feature indeed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-04, 11:06:04 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
I tried ripping Battle Garegga and Captain America & The Avengers. But it seems OKI-M6295 isn't yet fully supported.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-04, 12:08:51 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56
Posts: 84
RichterEX2 wrote:
I tried ripping Battle Garegga and Captain America & The Avengers. But it seems OKI-M6295 isn't yet fully supported.


Battle Garegga uses some custom bank-switching code, and as such isn't supported at the moment (sadly, since it has a awesome score).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-04, 14:17:34 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-05-04, 13:55:03
Posts: 106
Location: Seattle
I don't know how to load ROMS into the program. I can't run it in command line.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-04, 21:07:53 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
I recommend to open Notepad and paste the following:
Code:
m1 romname
pause

romname is the file name of a zip file in the roms folder, without the ".zip".
e.g. If you want to listen to Out Run, your zip file is named outrun.zip (this must follow the MAME name convention, else it doesn't work), so the line needs to be m1 outrun.

Then save it as "m1_run.bat" (Be sure to select File Type: All Files (*.*), else it will save it as m1_run.bat.txt)

Now double-click the new bat-file and M1 will play in a console window.


If you now want to log VGMs, insert a -g in between m1 and romname. Example:
Code:
m1 -g outrun
pause


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-05, 2:56:24 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-04-22, 4:03:45
Posts: 206
Location: New York, NY, USA
i'd like to note that, for some games, you'd need to use an m1 specific version of the rom to play; there are ~1950 games that are listed in m1.xml, and the m1 versions of these are basically sound rom only. visit e2j.net for updates to m1.xml and the *.lst files.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 99 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Linkdex [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group