vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-10-22, 8:08:37

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 99 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-05, 12:09:39 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2822
Location: Germany
I always use unmodified MAME roms in M1.
M1 just verified the files it needs to run, but it doesn't bother about files it doesn't know.

And the included m1.xml should be the most recent one, so all you need from E2J are the list files.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-06, 6:20:27 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
Another issue detected. Galaxy Force II's PCMs play very slow and low-pitched compared to MAME.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-07, 6:17:37 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
And Rohga Armor Force / Wolf Fang plays at a much slower tempo than it should be.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-07, 22:13:16 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2822
Location: Germany
I doubt that I can do something about the slower tempo, but the low-pitched PCM is easy to fix.
M1 uses a wrong SegaPCM clock for this game.

btw: M1 uses slightly incorrect clocks for that game either way.
Unlike MAME, M1 has only a few generic board setups, which seem off sometimes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-17, 22:51:56 
Offline

Joined: 2011-11-30, 17:26:44
Posts: 457
Location: Italy
Are we cool with QSound packs now? There are a couple of games which I would like to rip.

_________________
My webhost decided to shut down most of my webspace without a warning. If you find any broken Digilander link in any of my posts (basically all of them should be), please inform me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-18, 0:18:55 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2822
Location: Germany
Yes, I think you can start ripping, now.
The tools are actually finished and I'll release an update in a few days.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-18, 10:48:53 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-05-04, 13:55:03
Posts: 106
Location: Seattle
I'm not sure how to log VGMs but I know that BridgeM1 would not play Stagger 1's music correctly, it would randomly hang on a random point of the song as if it froze or something.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-18, 13:43:09 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-13, 17:31:14
Posts: 397
Location: Earth Planet
The modded m1.dll is not made for use in BridgeM1, so, a lot of bugs occur.

_________________
オモいカルチャーをオモチャーと言う - 細野晴臣


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-18, 14:28:30 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2822
Location: Germany
I don't think that it's possible to log VGMs with the BridgeM1 GUI, but I don't expect it to be buggier than using the console interface.

That means, I don't think it'll play correctly in the current version of M1.

EDIT: Also moved the posts to the correct topic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-18, 14:57:39 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-13, 17:31:14
Posts: 397
Location: Earth Planet
BridgeM1 logs automatically VGM files, the directory is same as you place the .wav files.

_________________
オモいカルチャーをオモチャーと言う - 細野晴臣


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-18, 17:12:35 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-05-04, 13:55:03
Posts: 106
Location: Seattle
I know that BridgeM1 is not compatible. I would use the modded DOS version but I don't know how to get a file loaded in there. Not sure if I put it in the directory, or if there's a directory within that directory. :P
As for Stagger 1 and the modded MAME, so does the VGM logging stop after you exit or something? I tried playing back the VGZ file in Winamp and it wouldn't play, but all the other VGZs I've downloaded here will, so I'm sure it is something that I'm doing wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-18, 23:28:15 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-04-22, 4:03:45
Posts: 203
Location: New York, NY, USA
Doommaster1994 wrote:
I know that BridgeM1 is not compatible. I would use the modded DOS version but I don't know how to get a file loaded in there. Not sure if I put it in the directory, or if there's a directory within that directory. :P


You need to have the roms in question put into one of the rom paths listed in m1.ini, then in a command line navigate to m1's folder and run m1 -g romname , where romname is the name of the zip file WITHOUT the .zip extension.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-19, 3:06:35 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-05-04, 13:55:03
Posts: 106
Location: Seattle
Thanks a bunch for the help, guys! Much appreciated! I will try that.
EDIT: I got it working! Thanks!
Also, Stagger 1 has the same problem it does in BridgeM1 where the notes freeze randomly.


Last edited by MusicFox on 2012-05-19, 7:03:27, edited 4 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 4:07:35 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
Another silent one: Paperboy. Plays fine without logging on, however.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 4:50:13 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
Another one I remembered. The ending tune to Ghouls'n Ghosts has bad sync with its instruments. Certain versions of MAME still have this bug as well.

How it currently sounds in M1.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VanbORUFHqQ

How it should sound. Wish I knew which version of MAME this was.
http://youtu.be/P2uVsqRYBrs?t=30m41s


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 99 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group