vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-09-22, 4:40:10

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 272 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ... 19  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-05-06, 12:37:58 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Ball Fondlers Ball Fondlers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2014-01-28, 5:51:54
Posts: 496
It's a bit inconsistent. You could just order them and use MuteMask all the way. But thanks, it worked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VGMPlay / in_vgm
PostPosted: 2014-06-21, 7:48:22 
Offline

Joined: 2014-06-20, 18:02:46
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands
The location of VGMPlay.ini in the manpage is wrong, I'd suggest the following patch:
Code:
diff --git a/vgmplay.1 b/vgmplay.1
index 8b0a8fc..ba4e8b0 100644
--- a/vgmplay.1
+++ b/vgmplay.1
@@ -108,7 +108,7 @@ It's possible to write Wave files by editing the "LogSound"-line in the ini-file
 Batch conversions are possible by opening a playlist.
 FM hardware cannot be logged to Wave files.
 .SH CONFIGURATION
-vgmplay is configured in the file VGMPlay.ini, which should be located in $XDG_CONFIG_HOME (thus, by default ~/.config/VGMPlay.ini).  A sample configuration /usr/share/vgmplay/VGMPlay.ini is available for copying and general reference.
+vgmplay is configured in the file VGMPlay.ini, which should be located in $XDG_CONFIG_HOME/vgmplay (thus, by default ~/.config/vgmplay/VGMPlay.ini).  A sample configuration /usr/share/vgmplay/VGMPlay.ini is available for copying and general reference.
 .SH BUGS
 PauseEmulation is disabled under Linux if no FM Hardware is used.
 .PP

Also for some reason it's playing vgm files really fast here (on Ubuntu Linux 14.04 with latest version VGMPlay 0.40.5, using libao). Haven't debugged yet why. I already tried playing with SampleRate and PlaybackRate but no difference. But it sounds as if it is sending with the wrong sampling rate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VGMPlay / in_vgm
PostPosted: 2014-06-21, 9:35:22 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2797
Location: Germany
Thanks, it will be fixed with the next release.

About the sped up sound: This happened to me under openSUSE sometimes after pausing and resuming. It seems to let me write the buffers too quickly. I haven't yet found a way to fix it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: VGMPlay / in_vgm
PostPosted: 2014-06-22, 8:36:57 
Offline

Joined: 2014-06-20, 18:02:46
Posts: 4
Location: The Netherlands
ValleyBell wrote:
Thanks, it will be fixed with the next release.

About the sped up sound: This happened to me under openSUSE sometimes after pausing and resuming. It seems to let me write the buffers too quickly. I haven't yet found a way to fix it.

Yes, it seems to be a problem with libao (which in turn sends to pulseaudio?) output. When I log to a sound file it works great, and with the OSS backend it does too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-08-15, 0:03:47 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2013-01-22, 13:42:04
Posts: 19
Location: Toronto, Canada
The gain seems to be too high in some cases with the latest VGMPlay.

I can hear it very prominently in Track 11 from this pack:
http://vgm.mdscene.net/packs/pack/black-tiger-arcade

In 40-3, which I used when I made the pack, it plays fine, but in 40-5 you can hear scratchy clipping throughout.

If this is due to a change in emulation, maybe the pack needs an update, but if there is a bug with the gain...?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-08-15, 7:41:48 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2797
Location: Germany
The VGMs themselves have gain set to 1.00 (value 0x00).
But I changed the volume of the AY chip some time ago (part of the OPN chips as "SSG"), so this might have affected the default volume for VGMs with YM2203/2608/2610.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-22, 6:28:13 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-01-03, 2:10:28
Posts: 273
in_vgm for foobar2000.(It is not what I made, Were made by anonymous users in Japan)
Edit:Remove dead link.

-How to install
Create a folder foo_input_vgm to user-components folder, please put the vgm_player.dll and foo_input_vgm.dll in the foo_input_vgm folder,
or please put the vgm_player.dll and foo_input_vgm.dll in the components folder.

Edit:
If you can not download, please try the mirror here.
Edit2:
Please look here Post.


Last edited by 2ch-H on 2015-01-24, 9:17:47, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-23, 9:58:36 
Offline

Joined: 2012-12-11, 5:11:08
Posts: 3
Location: ost
2ch-H~ Thank you! :wink:

_________________
Hello


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-24, 0:09:22 

Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2012-09-29, 11:45:48
Posts: 205
Location: Australia
2ch-H wrote:
in_vgm for foobar2000.(It is not what I made, Were made by anonymous users in Japan)
http://ux.getuploader.com/foobar2000/do ... 1_beta.zip
You can download by pressing the "ダウンロード" button.

-How to install
Create a folder foo_input_vgm to user-components folder, please put the vgm_player.dll and foo_input_vgm.dll in the foo_input_vgm folder,
or please put the vgm_player.dll and foo_input_vgm.dll in the components folder.

Edit:
If you can not download, please try the mirror here.


Nice find. Thanks for sharing this port!
EDIT: I can see the only thing that doesn't appear to work, is OKI MSM6258 (SHARP X68000 ADPCM unit). Everything else does, and it sounds like they're using a different core for HuC6280 (sounds a lot like NEZPlug's). :)

_________________
-dj.tuBIG/MaliceX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-24, 0:55:45 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-01-03, 2:10:28
Posts: 273
MaliceX wrote:
Nice find. Thanks for sharing this port!
EDIT: I can see the only thing that doesn't appear to work, is OKI MSM6258 (SHARP X68000 ADPCM unit). Everything else does, and it sounds like they're using a different core for HuC6280 (sounds a lot like NEZPlug's). :)

It appears to be working.
You have enabled the vgm of foo_gep.dll Did you mean? (Prefer foo_gep.dll If you have enabled)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-24, 1:30:42 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 182
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
2ch-H wrote:
in_vgm for foobar2000.(It is not what I made, Were made by anonymous users in Japan)
http://ux.getuploader.com/foobar2000/do ... 1_beta.zip
You can download by pressing the "ダウンロード" button.

-How to install
Create a folder foo_input_vgm to user-components folder, please put the vgm_player.dll and foo_input_vgm.dll in the foo_input_vgm folder,
or please put the vgm_player.dll and foo_input_vgm.dll in the components folder.

Edit:
If you can not download, please try the mirror here.


Aaand goodbye, Winamp! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-24, 4:49:27 

Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2012-09-29, 11:45:48
Posts: 205
Location: Australia
2ch-H wrote:
MaliceX wrote:
Nice find. Thanks for sharing this port!
EDIT: I can see the only thing that doesn't appear to work, is OKI MSM6258 (SHARP X68000 ADPCM unit). Everything else does, and it sounds like they're using a different core for HuC6280 (sounds a lot like NEZPlug's). :)

It appears to be working.
You have enabled the vgm of foo_gep.dll Did you mean? (Prefer foo_gep.dll If you have enabled)

Whoops. Thanks for that. It was interesting because 1.70 vgm's were working. (last i checked, foo_gep didn't support them)

_________________
-dj.tuBIG/MaliceX


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-24, 10:05:12 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-12-21, 15:30:24
Posts: 57
Location: UK
Wow, fantastic news. I will give this a try today, and go through all the sets I downloaded which so far did not play either accurately or at all with foo_gep!

_________________
http://iridescentaudio.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-24, 19:40:27 

Contributors Contributors
Bug catchers Bug catchers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-28, 19:52:40
Posts: 192
Location: Paris, France
MaliceX wrote:
It sounds like they're using a different core for HuC6280 (sounds a lot like NEZPlug's).


Actually, it's the audio core from Ootake.
Thanks 2ch-H for the link!

_________________

Sega PCM [1985/1989] | Namco C140 [1987/1990] | Hudson HuC6280 [1987/1995] | Yamaha YM2608 [1988/1996] | Oki MSM6295 [1988/1998]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2014-10-25, 5:43:58 

Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2012-09-29, 11:45:48
Posts: 205
Location: Australia
Kaminari wrote:
MaliceX wrote:
It sounds like they're using a different core for HuC6280 (sounds a lot like NEZPlug's).


Actually, it's the audio core from Ootake.
Thanks 2ch-H for the link!

Yeah that's my mistake for not unchecking .VGM playback from foo_gep first. :P

_________________
-dj.tuBIG/MaliceX


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 272 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ... 19  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group