vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-11-22, 5:39:20

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 282 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2015-07-17, 15:42:34 

Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-18, 16:59:23
Posts: 152
Location: Tomsk, Russia
So I wanted to update VGMPlay from 0.40.3 to 0.40.5 on my ArchLinux machine.
A couple of issues to report:

1. SAA1099 is missing from Makefile's EMUOBJ
2. At least on my machine io.h is included as <sys/io.h>
3. _wfopen, _wopen and gzopen_w are probably windows specific, replacing these with non-wide variants work OK.
4. As I'm making arch package install -m *** had to be changed to install -Dm ***
5. yrw801.rom is not included in source, maybe use separate install for it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2015-07-18, 8:57:34 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
Most of those issues got already fixed in the Git repo.

About the YRW ROM ... even though it fails to copy the file, make should still return a success code, because it ignores errors on that command.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2015-07-31, 19:39:43 

Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2012-09-29, 11:45:48
Posts: 214
Location: Australia
Alternate build for VGMPlay 0.40.6 for OPL Hardware Playback on WinNT (including Win7 x64) updated:

Last updated 1 Aug 2015

  • (31-Jul) Replaced PortTalk routines with InpOut32.dll-based ones (again...)
  • (31-Jul) Added patch table switching between VGM's in OPLL and VRC7 mode for hardware playback (note: does not apply if YM2413 set to MEKA HW core)
  • (1-Aug) Fixed YM2149 PIN26_SEL_LOW mode to halve its master clock for hardware playback (basically played one octave too high)

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/128 ... pout32.zip


Attachments:
File comment: Last updated 1 Aug 2015
VGMPlay-040-6-inpout32.zip [394.48 KiB]
Downloaded 183 times

_________________
-dj.tuBIG/MaliceX


Last edited by MaliceX on 2015-08-13, 16:18:07, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: 2015-08-02, 20:55:56 
Offline

Joined: 2015-05-22, 12:50:14
Posts: 3
Is this a good place to talk about any suggestions for the next update of this in_vgm plugin?

A while back, I tested some games like Bonk's Adventure on a real Turbografx 16 (well, actually a TurboExpress) that play straight-out noise in a constant loop. One of the soundtracks on the game includes noise being played representing the sound of a waterfall. I determined that the noise algorithm sounds totally different from what most players and emulators make it out to be, including this plugin. They assume that the sound chip uses the same algorithm as the NES (15-bit LFSR) but it doesn't sound anything like it, at least I don't think it does.

I do not know how to reverse-engineer anything, let alone a sound chip, to examine the output more carefully, but if anyone else can confirm this on a real system, that would be good. Oh, and I believe the Jackie Chan game VGM (Opening 3) plays the noise, too.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2015-08-02, 21:45:31 

Contributors Contributors
Bug catchers Bug catchers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-28, 19:52:40
Posts: 206
Location: Paris, France
The VGM format is not really responsible for how music is rendered.

For PC Engine games, VGM uses Ootake's audio core. If you have suggestions to improve its sound emulation (especially the noise generator), you should contact Kitao Nakamura.

_________________

Sega PCM [1985/1989] | Namco C140 [1987/1990] | Hudson HuC6280 [1987/1995] | Yamaha YM2608 [1988/1996] | Oki MSM6295 [1988/1998]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: K007232
PostPosted: 2015-08-05, 16:50:02 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2014-04-01, 15:44:03
Posts: 7
Location: Brasília-DF / Brazil
I know I shouldn't ask for features here, but what I'd like to know is this: should I keep my hopes up for future K007232 support? I think there's a big gap in Konami support without this chip. Would it be too difficult to support it in the future? Thank you for your attention and I hope you forgive my impertinence.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2015-08-09, 15:11:30 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
So far I've been pretty hesitant with sound chips that have only very few channels.
One of the reasons is that having 2 or more of them is pretty common (looks at MSM 5205) and VGMs support only 2x the same chip at once currently.
I might find a better way to support multiple chips than we have currently, but that won't be within the next few months.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2015-08-10, 14:29:30 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2014-04-01, 15:44:03
Posts: 7
Location: Brasília-DF / Brazil
Oh, okay, thank you for the explanation. I understand. I'm confident you can find a great solution for this problem, and great solutions take time and care. Thank you also for not completely shooting down my hopes. :wink: I'm grateful for all your work in in_vgm, vgmplay and vgmrips. It's been amazing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2015-11-22, 12:41:53 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
Due to regular reports about VGMPlay or the VGM tools not being able to read VGMs properly due to a zlib bug, here is a fixed zlib1.dll.
link

Just building it with MSVC fixed this issue, but I also made another tiny change to improve gzseek.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-02-07, 13:07:03 
Offline

Joined: 2012-04-24, 8:55:51
Posts: 4
I've just noticed that VGMPlay/in_vgm 0.40.6 doesn't play some of the tracks correctly (like for example Lauper from The Return of Ishtar set or Below 2nd Place Name Registration from Ghosts'n Goblins set) unless I turn down the volume down to around -8 Db. Is there any way to fix this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-02-08, 22:12:24 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2843
Location: Germany
The VGM's are clipping, because the volume is too high. (The default volume used by VGMPlay doesn't fit for everything.)

If you copy vgm_ptch into the folder of the extracted VGMs (or set the PATH variable to point to the folder with the VGM tools), you can execute this small line in cmd.exe to reduce the volume:
Code:
for %f in (*.vg?) do vgm_ptch -SetVolMod:0.25 "%f"

I might update the Ghosts 'n' Goblins pack with one of the next updates.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-02-11, 13:26:17 
Offline

Joined: 2012-04-24, 8:55:51
Posts: 4
I understand, thanks for help and also for updating the Ghosts'n Goblins set.

Admin edit: Removed fullquote


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-03-23, 7:13:23 

Musicians Musicians
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-10-07, 3:33:28
Posts: 32
Location: Canada
This is so blatant I'm assuming it's a known issue, but on the off chance it was overlooked, there is currently no way to mute (or unmute) channels 25-32 on the C352. Pressing keys P through W does nothing either.


Attachments:
Untitled.png
Untitled.png [ 13.5 KiB | Viewed 3029 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-03-23, 8:44:47 

Contributors Contributors
Staff Staff
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2013-07-17, 23:32:39
Posts: 222
It's a known issue. Only way to mute channels 25-32 are using the mute mask in VGMPlay.ini.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-03-23, 13:41:31 

Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2015-06-18, 22:26:41
Posts: 47
jrlepage wrote:
This is so blatant I'm assuming it's a known issue, but on the off chance it was overlooked, there is currently no way to mute (or unmute) channels 25-32 on the C352. Pressing keys P through W does nothing either.


You could try the foobar version, since it has no such issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 282 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group