vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-06-28, 21:19:51

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 272 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 19  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-29, 21:59:37 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Online
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2721
Location: Germany
Okay, I got XMPlay and found the bug: in_vgm tries to load/save the ini-file from/to XMPlay\Plugins\in_vgm.ini
So if you make a directory called "Plugins" in XMPlay's folder, it works.

That's because I ask Windows for the application path, which returns Winamp.exe, not the DLL. From there I write the ini-file to PlugIns\. (or %AppData%\Winamp\Plugins, if Winamp returns it)

I'll see if I can get the DLL path somehow to fix this.


EDIT: Okay. I fixed and updated in_vgm to 0.40.2. (The update 3 weeks ago was actually 0.40.1, but I forgot to change the version number.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-04-30, 11:27:42 

Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-11, 19:17:49
Posts: 19
Location: Estonia
I'm gonna test this as soon as I get back home from work ^^
EDIT: worked wonderfully ^^

_________________
Mida sa loed ? Nagunii aru ei saa :P


Last edited by Tiido on 2012-05-02, 12:32:31, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-04, 20:03:32 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56
Posts: 84
ValleyBell, I'm getting some annoying volume spikes when using your plugin to play P2612 Arcus Odyssey set.

08 Act 1 Boss.vgm roughly 1:38 in for example

I don't have the time for further testing at the moment, but I don't seem to recall this happening with Maxim's version - will check tomorrow.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-04, 20:26:01 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Online
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2721
Location: Germany
That's a bug of the VGM, or better said, the sound engine. It writes 0xFF (maximum positive value) to the DAC, maybe that was intended to be a "sound stop" command or it's a corrupted sound.
Mute all channels but the DAC and you'll see it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-04, 23:08:53 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56
Posts: 84
ValleyBell wrote:
That's a bug of the VGM, or better said, the sound engine. It writes 0xFF (maximum positive value) to the DAC, maybe that was intended to be a "sound stop" command or it's a corrupted sound.
Mute all channels but the DAC and you'll see it.


Thing is, I've checked with emulated sound rip, using Hoot and it doesn't fade everything there, just plays some sounds only on the left channel. Nothing as annoying as the VGM file.
I'll post some MP3s tomorrow, so you can hear what I'm talking about.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Slower
PostPosted: 2012-05-19, 16:49:31 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-05-19, 16:39:16
Posts: 6
Location: Kostroma, Russia, UPU
Hi! How I can get other version of a melody in VGM Play? ... For example, open Sonic 1 in Kega, change region to EUR (F3 key) and you get slower melodies. Is it possible in this player? :) Sorry for bad language :roll:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-19, 22:49:25 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Online
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2721
Location: Germany
At the moment there's no option for that in VGMPlay (it's on my TODO list now), so you have to use in_vgm for that.
In in_vgm, just set "Playback rate" to 50 Hz and most Master System and MegaDrive songs should play slower.

Please note that this doesn't work with most Arcade VGMs.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 7:50:46 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-05-19, 16:39:16
Posts: 6
Location: Kostroma, Russia, UPU
Thank you! :)

UPD: It works! :D


Last edited by Diamond00744 on 2012-05-20, 8:16:32, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-08-15, 6:30:46 

Musicians Musicians
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-08-15, 6:24:35
Posts: 37
Just thought I'd report that VGMPlay MAME emulation seems inaccurate for the YM2612. Try listening to Blacksheep from Alien Soldier, or Heart of Icegrave from Monster World IV. Blacksheep just sounds wrong right from the start, and Heart of Icegrave's cymbals sound incorrect.

_________________
My Youtube Channel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-08-15, 9:09:49 

Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-18, 16:59:23
Posts: 151
Location: Tomsk, Russia
Raijin
I think this is better to report to MAME developers team, I don't remember YM2612 core updates for some years tho'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-08-15, 10:00:27 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Online
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2721
Location: Germany
Raijin wrote:
Just thought I'd report that VGMPlay MAME emulation seems inaccurate for the YM2612. Try listening to Blacksheep from Alien Soldier, or Heart of Icegrave from Monster World IV. Blacksheep just sounds wrong right from the start, and Heart of Icegrave's cymbals sound incorrect.

1. In order to actually fix something, one needs to know how it sounds. i.e. fixing is impossible without a comparison of "how it sounds" and "how it should sound" (and don't compare it with Gens, please)
2. Like tails_ said, reporting that to the MAME developers would make more sense
3. I already fixed various bugs of the YM2612 core and it was horror. Sorry, but I'm not going to touch this core another time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-08-15, 18:35:27 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-04-22, 4:03:45
Posts: 203
Location: New York, NY, USA
Just out of curiosity, the fixes you made in the MAME YM2612 core are backported from Genesis Plus GX or something, right?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-08-15, 19:27:41 

Musicians Musicians
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-08-15, 6:24:35
Posts: 37
Well, it sounded fine in the previous version. That's what I used to make this video, and you can use that as a reference to what it sounds like now. Oh, and Youtube has a tendency to not jump to the correct position half the time, so if that happens, jump to 38:12 in that video. I don't know anything about MAME, so that's why I reported that here. I just figured it had something to do with VGMPlay itself I guess, though, if you say the YM2612 hasn't been updated in MAME for years, it must be VGMPlay, right?

_________________
My Youtube Channel


Last edited by Raijin on 2012-08-15, 19:33:19, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-08-15, 23:19:32 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Online
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2721
Location: Germany
neologix wrote:
Just out of curiosity, the fixes you made in the MAME YM2612 core are backported from Genesis Plus GX or something, right?
The fixes I did are additional refresh calls and some stuff ported from the latest Genesis Plus GX. (The MAME Team didn't port a few things correctly.)
And some workarounds for VGMTool trimmed VGMs.
Nice example from INLINE void set_timers(...):
Code:
   ST->mode = v;   // MAME
   if ((OPN->ST.mode ^ v) & 0xC0)
   ...

Code:
   if ((ym2612.OPN.ST.mode ^ v) & 0xC0)   // Genesis Plus GX
   ...
   ym2612.OPN.ST.mode = v;


Raijin: The video sounds very much like it's using the Gens core - a very very outdated YM2612 emulation. (Which date does your "previous version" have, btw? Some of the early versions of VGMPlay may have used it as default core.)
I tested the ROM in Regen (which seems to be the most accurate MD emulator these days) and the current VGMPlay sounds quite close to it.
If you really want to prove me wrong, record it from real hardware. Just do NEVER compare emulation with emulation.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-08-16, 0:29:10 

Musicians Musicians
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-08-15, 6:24:35
Posts: 37
Well, I don't have the previous version anymore. I think it was one or two releases before this current version, maybe. I definately remember the one I used for that video didn't have PCE support yet though.
Unfortunately, I don't have a copy of Alien Soldier. I do have Monster World IV though, so I recorded Heart of Icegrave for the different cymbal sounds I mentioned.

First of all, here is the one in that video from before. Again, if Youtube doesn't link it properly to the point it's supposed to, skip to 33:08.

Here is a recording from the current version of VGMPlay.

Finally, here is a recording from my HD Graphics Model 1 Genesis with a VA6 motherboard. Unfortunately, my Genesis isn't modded for anything other than a region switch, so the audio quality is subpar.

Now as far as I can tell, all three recordings of the cymbals sound different. What do you think? Perhaps I am just incorrect?

_________________
My Youtube Channel


Last edited by Raijin on 2012-08-16, 0:30:48, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 272 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 19  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, ValleyBell and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group