vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-12-18, 9:10:01

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 2012-05-19, 21:26:58 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-04-22, 4:03:45
Posts: 211
Location: New York, NY, USA
There's a tool, GBS2GB that converts .gbs files to .gb files that can be run in normal Game Boy emulators or even on a Game Boy itself. I've run a Link's Awakening .gbs thru it and the resulting .gb runs in gambatte-qt, but not in the modified MESS for logging.

How do I get MESS to run this "game" and how do I log VGMs from it? I believe using GBS2GB on .gbs files would greatly simplify the work we'd have to do to expand the Game Boy section of this site.


Last edited by neologix on 2012-05-19, 21:28:19, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-19, 22:31:45 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-13, 17:31:14
Posts: 396
Location: Earth Planet
MESS logs automatically the VGM files. It puts in the same directory as messui.exe is. If not appears, go to gameboy.ini (or the name of clone), go to the vgmwrite line, edit them and put "1" instead of 0. If not works, try to do this in mess.ini.

_________________
オモいカルチャーをオモチャーと言う - 細野晴臣


Last edited by Sonic of 8! on 2012-05-19, 22:34:24, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 1:17:02 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-04-22, 4:03:45
Posts: 211
Location: New York, NY, USA
ok, i got the converted thing to run in mess-vgm! basically, procedure is get mess to the point where it can run gameboy games like normal, then put the converted file into the folder you point to as your gameboy folder and it will show up in the refreshed view.

seems to involve various bios files that i apparently didn't have before, but do now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 1:46:26 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-13, 17:31:14
Posts: 396
Location: Earth Planet
Game Boy Light and GB Pocket don't use BIOS, so you can play them without seeing the Nintendo logo like in Original DMG, GBC and SGB.

_________________
オモいカルチャーをオモチャーと言う - 細野晴臣


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 1:47:54 
Offline

Joined: 2011-11-30, 17:26:44
Posts: 457
Location: Italy
I bet that most (all?) the GB packs on this site were made with gbs2gb conversions. I know my ones were. Yes, it's a nice useful tool which can speed up the process quite a bit. I wonder if there is a similar converter for NSF files...

_________________
My webhost decided to shut down most of my webspace without a warning. If you find any broken Digilander link in any of my posts (basically all of them should be), please inform me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 2:07:46 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-13, 17:31:14
Posts: 396
Location: Earth Planet
Tom wrote:
I wonder if there is a similar converter for NSF files...


You mean a NSF back to a ROM file right? There is a converter, but its need to knowing some MML language.

www.average.truechiptilldeath.com/nesdev/nsf2nes.rar

_________________
オモいカルチャーをオモチャーと言う - 細野晴臣


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 2:19:17 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-04-22, 4:03:45
Posts: 211
Location: New York, NY, USA
there seems to be some pitch discrepancies and i don't know if it's mess, vgmplay's code, or the fact that the vgm is logged from a gbs2gb converted file. anyone come across this? i can't tell which channel it's on, either, so i can't narrow it down, sorry.

w7 x64 home premium, using the default audio settings that came w/the mess DL that valleybell posted on this site somewhere.


Last edited by neologix on 2012-05-20, 2:19:56, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 2:28:29 
Offline

Joined: 2011-11-30, 17:26:44
Posts: 457
Location: Italy
Don't worry. It's mess. It sounds like crap while you're recording it but it's fine once you replay the logged vgm.

_________________
My webhost decided to shut down most of my webspace without a warning. If you find any broken Digilander link in any of my posts (basically all of them should be), please inform me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-20, 10:36:15 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2883
Location: Germany
Yeah, it doesn't sound very good in MESS.
VGMPlay uses MESS' sound core, but I did some accuracy hacks to improve the GB sound quality a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-05-21, 22:40:10 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-04-22, 4:03:45
Posts: 211
Location: New York, NY, USA
ValleyBell wrote:
Yeah, it doesn't sound very good in MESS.
VGMPlay uses MESS' sound core, but I did some accuracy hacks to improve the GB sound quality a lot.


mess is fine for consistency and whatever you did to vgmplay certainly sounds better than mess, but eventually for accuracy you may want to consider gambatte's gbsound core.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher, Linkdex [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group