vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-12-15, 14:12:02

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-07, 4:17:11 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-12-06, 7:22:23
Posts: 19
tails_ wrote:
This happens with S98 to VGM conversion or what?

Yep. Everything, YM2203 and YM2608, is doing this to me and I'm guessing it's something on my end...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-07, 4:37:37 

Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-18, 16:59:23
Posts: 152
Location: Tomsk, Russia
Can you give me M files you are trying to convert? Checked ones from hoot and there's no runtime 100 error in S98 rendering or S98->VGM conversion.


Last edited by tails_ on 2012-12-07, 4:38:15, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-07, 4:50:42 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-12-06, 7:22:23
Posts: 19
Sure: http://www.sendspace.com/file/ce0vsc
These are the two tracks I have been primarily working with.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-07, 8:26:37 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56
Posts: 84
tails_ wrote:
Just checked your S98 file, works just fine for me. The only theory I have now is that in_vgm displayed cached version of file


Right, totally forgot that in_vgm does that. Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-07, 8:57:42 

Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-18, 16:59:23
Posts: 152
Location: Tomsk, Russia
banshiryuu
Here you go: http://tails.bloodheaven.net/VGMPP/_etc ... _wrk/tm03/
I had no errors with conversion.

CMD log:
Quote:
pmd2s98 01MM.M
pmd2s98 05MM.M
s982 01MM.s98 -noadpcm -v 40
s982 05MM.s98 -noadpcm -v 40


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-07, 12:00:13 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2883
Location: Germany
Knurek wrote:
tails_ wrote:
Just checked your S98 file, works just fine for me. The only theory I have now is that in_vgm displayed cached version of file


Right, totally forgot that in_vgm does that. Thank you.

A little off-topic here, but since you all seem to have issues with in_vgm's cache, I'll add an option to disable the cache (or maybe make it more intelligent).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-07, 19:23:57 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-12-06, 7:22:23
Posts: 19
Ah, I figured out what I was doing wrong! I wasn't letting pmd2s98 finish converting... Well, everything's working now. Thanks for your guys' help with this. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-08, 9:42:40 

Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2012-09-29, 11:45:48
Posts: 211
Location: Australia
Even though this was mentioned via IRC, I'll post it here anyway.
---ADPCM detection seems to (not) work under specific circumstances in which it can not be clearly determined.
---PMD2S98 s98's generally do not convert well with s982vgm. (eg: missing multi-freq mode, dropped notes etc.) Hoot s98's work fine.

Probably should note -v ## SSG offset requirements are also very different with pmd2s98 s98's vs hoot s98's. (Currently doing comparisons with music from same games between players, possibly suggesting either have their own SSG volume adjustments on s98 creation)

_________________
-dj.tuBIG/MaliceX


Last edited by MaliceX on 2012-12-08, 10:13:40, edited 8 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-08, 15:43:56 

Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-18, 16:59:23
Posts: 152
Location: Tomsk, Russia
OK, we discussed that in IRC. Conclusions:

1. Auto ADCM detection will be changed to -adpcm switch, it sucked anyway.
2. It appears to be PMD problem, it can fallback to FM3ex mode to play 4 FM sounds and use 4 separate channels. MaliceX used -opn option to get YM2203 tracks but 4th channel was leaved out since YM2203 has only 3 FM tracks.


Last edited by tails_ on 2012-12-08, 15:45:49, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2012-12-31, 19:24:02 

Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-18, 16:59:23
Posts: 152
Location: Tomsk, Russia
Updated ADPCM converter. Link in first post. And Happy New Year, let's hope that forum will keep storing awesome stuff and became more stable (Hi Oerg).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2013-03-06, 14:20:43 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56
Posts: 84
Apologies for the bump, but I've noticed quite a number of PC-98 sets being submitted, so I would like to clarify.

Did we ever manage to find the correct values for SSG volume? Are the sets currently on site using this value, or will they have faulty FM/PSG volume ratio?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2013-03-06, 19:52:08 

Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-18, 16:59:23
Posts: 152
Location: Tomsk, Russia
So far I used values found "by ear", this needs some investiogation for sure but i don't know where to start. Preharps you happen to know how hoot stores these?


Last edited by tails_ on 2013-03-06, 19:52:56, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2013-03-06, 20:05:54 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56
Posts: 84
<option name="fm_mix" value="0"/>
<option name="ssg_mix" value="-13"/>

Those are default values for PC98 with either PC-9801-26K or Speak Board

<option name="fm_mix" value="0"/>
<option name="ssg_mix" value="-18"/>

Default values for PC98 with PC-9801-86

<option name="fm_mix" value="0"/>
<option name="ssg_mix" value="-2"/>

Default values for PC88

Many drivers override these with custom values.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2013-03-07, 5:09:56 

Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-18, 16:59:23
Posts: 152
Location: Tomsk, Russia
Do these numbers represent decibels?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2013-03-07, 10:55:39 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56
Posts: 84
tails_ wrote:
Do these numbers represent decibels?


I don't think so, just general balance I think - you should ask Hoot devs to clarify though.

I'm not sure if you couldn't change the balance with a BIOS/motherboard switch on a real PC-98, which could amount to the different values used by different games.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group