vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2018-06-23, 6:09:22

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 191 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-03-06, 10:44:26 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2015-06-08, 20:42:22
Posts: 30
Location: Argentina
Hey, ValleyBell! I hope you're doing well.

I have a doubt. Is it actually possible to remove activity from certain channels on a Sega Mega Drive VGM, more specifically, YM2612 channels? I'm logging VGMs from a game I know that uses a certain channel for sound effects, and I could have only the music playing normally just by removing the activity from that channel. I read somewhere, doing a keyword search on the forum, that channel stripping isn't yet possible for the YM2612 with vgm_ptch; I tried with VGMTool 2r6 and I still have no idea what it does, if I'm doing it right or wrong, or if it's actually reliable or not. I would really appreciate some feedback on this.

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-03-06, 11:41:15 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Reverse engineers Reverse engineers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2956
Location: Germany
Actually, the preferred way would be to get someone to hack the game for you to prevent SFX from playing at all.
SFX mute music channels temporarily (in most sound drivers), so logging a VGM that includes SFX involves losing a part of the music already. (We have this problem with the current VGM rip of Bonanza Bros., btw.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-03-06, 11:49:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2015-06-08, 20:42:22
Posts: 30
Location: Argentina
Well, yes, that's what I want to do primarily, but it'll take me a while to learn to hack and I don't want to have to pester someone to do it for me every time I want to make a rip.
These songs I wanted to rip, I already made sure that they don't play any music notes in the SFX assigned channel so there would be no interferences. In any case, hacking the game will still be the optimal solution.

Thanks for your feedback!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-05-03, 21:45:00 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Reverse engineers Reverse engineers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2956
Location: Germany
Please don't use vgm_cmp on GameBoy VGMs until there is an update.
The current version of vgm_cmp was written with the old (inaccurate) GameBoy core in mind and optimized VGMs play half-broken with the new GB core used by the most recent VGMPlay update.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-08-27, 8:19:12 

Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2012-11-22, 1:48:53
Posts: 61
Attempting to use vgm_sro on Sound ID E4 from Ninja Master's ("Karasu Ending") results in vgm_sro crashing without an error message (besides "vgm_sro.exe has stopped working").

Raw recording from power on:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/75c2mr1jkueir ... 4.vgm?dl=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2017-08-27, 14:45:29 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Reverse engineers Reverse engineers
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2956
Location: Germany
Bug found and fixed. You can get an updated version of vgm_sro (and vgm_cmp with "fixed" GameBoy support) here.

btw: The reason it crashed was that I forgot a check for (sample end address < sample start address).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2018-01-18, 2:24:02 

Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2012-11-22, 1:48:53
Posts: 61
Using vgm_cmp on VGMs that use the OKI M6295 "Set Master Clock" command, such as some Data East games, will strip the command from the file, causing OKI samples that require an altered master clock to not play correctly.

Examples follow:

Captain America and The Avengers, "Scene 1: 'The Avengers'":
Before - https://www.dropbox.com/s/8zsck1578s291 ... .vgm?raw=1
After - https://www.dropbox.com/s/efhgmpvn1itf6 ... .vgm?raw=1

Desert Assault / Thunder Zone, "Operation Thunder Zone":
Before - https://www.dropbox.com/s/165lsfw1rvxxn ... .vgm?raw=1
After - https://www.dropbox.com/s/s8xe5f4x4bvgo ... .vgm?raw=1


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2018-04-01, 1:29:06 
Offline

Joined: 2018-04-01, 0:56:56
Posts: 1
Whoa, this sure is an old topic and it's still going?

I'm trying to convert the Boss tune from Snow Bros (whose chip is YM3812) using vgm2mid 0.5 r61... and quite a bunch of instruments/tracks aren't converted (specially the bassline of the 2nd half of the song) so the resulting MIDI sounds "empty" in comparison.
I don't know what to do from here D;

EDIT: OH DAMN. Thanks to in_vgm I noticed that the bassline is actually done in the BASS DRUM channel. There should be a way to convert it to a regular instrument track instead of a drum one... hmmm.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2018-06-12, 4:54:23 

Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2015-06-18, 22:26:41
Posts: 63
I've had a question for a long time. Is it possible to log vgm_stat's text to a text file? I have a couple Neo Geo rips that I've been sitting on too long, but never got around to making description files for them because I no longer have the patience to type all the timing stuff out for that stuff anymore, plus I need to start limiting how much computer screen time I'm getting(hurts my eyes). I haven't looked through this thread for an answer, so if it has been answered, please just point me to it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2018-06-12, 11:14:44 

Programmers Programmers
Offline

Joined: 2011-11-30, 17:26:44
Posts: 463
Location: Italy
Step 0: open a command prompt and navigate to the directory where your vgm files are. If you don't know how, look for "chdir" on Google.

Step 1: make sure you have a playlist to go along with your files in the same directory. If you don't have one yet, you can create it by typing:
Code:
C:\SOMETHING>dir *.vg? /b > playlist.m3u
There are other ways to create it of course, and you can add/remove files later. Note: "playlist.m3u" is a generic placeholder name; ideally you should name it according to the naming conventions (e.g. the name of the game or something, it's been years since I made a pack), but make sure to retain the ".m3u" extension.

Step 2: once the playlist is in place and it contains all the files of your pack, you can type:
Code:
C:\SOMETHING>vgm_stat.exe playlist.m3u > mytext.txt
Once again, "mytext.txt" is a generic placeholder, rename it all you want, but keep the ".txt" extension.

Step 3: ?????

Step 4: profit!

_________________
My webhost decided to shut down most of my webspace without a warning. If you find any broken Digilander link in any of my posts (basically all of them should be), please inform me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2018-06-12, 18:22:07 

Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2015-06-18, 22:26:41
Posts: 63
@Tom

Thanks. That command worked as a bat file.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 191 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 9, 10, 11, 12, 13

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group