Skip to content

M1 Arcade Music Player

Current version: 0.79a1 (released on 2012-04-26)

Technical discussion about the VGM format, and all the software you need to handle VGM files.

Moderator: Staff

  • User avatar
  • ValleyBell Offline
  • Posts: 4826
  • Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
  • Location: Germany

Post by ValleyBell »

I found the bug - there was a typo in the ROM data reading routine of the UPD7759 core. I'll update VGMPlay later today.
  • User avatar
  • ValleyBell Offline
  • Posts: 4826
  • Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
  • Location: Germany

Post by ValleyBell »

I updated M1. It's just a small bugfix that fixes the bug that prevented games like Salamander 2 from playing anything if changing the song and with VGM logging enabled.
  • User avatar
  • RichterEX2 Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
  • Location: Georgia, USA

Post by RichterEX2 »

Sexy Parodius works now, but Twinbee Yahhoo still does not. Actually, it's entirely silent.
  • User avatar
  • RichterEX2 Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
  • Location: Georgia, USA

Post by RichterEX2 »

And one more suggestion: A timer that tells you how long you've been playing a track. This would be especially helpful for looping purposes.
  • User avatar
  • RichterEX2 Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
  • Location: Georgia, USA

Post by RichterEX2 »

And yet another bug. I tried ripping VGMs for Voltage Fighter Gowcaizer, but quite a few of them are missing instruments. Mainly the samples.
  • User avatar
  • ValleyBell Offline
  • Posts: 4826
  • Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
  • Location: Germany

Post by ValleyBell »

Can you name a few tracks, please? The Opening song seems okay.

Also: Are they missing in M1 in general, or just in the VGM.
And in the former case: Does it work if you don't have VGM logging enabled?


About games being completely silent: If it doesn't work with VGM logging off, I likely can't do anything.
If it works in an offical build of M1, I can compare the sources between the two versions and maybe fix it, though.
  • User avatar
  • RichterEX2 Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
  • Location: Georgia, USA

Post by RichterEX2 »

For Gowcaizer: Plays fine in M1, it's just the VGMs that are logged. It can be noticed in "Player Select", "Captain Atlantis Theme", and "Fudomaro Theme".

As for Twinbee: It plays fine with VGM logging off. Except for the first track which is still silent.
  • Tom Offline
  • Ragequit Member
    Ragequit Member
  • Posts: 496
  • Joined: 2011-11-30, 17:26:44
  • Location: Italy
  • Contact:

Post by Tom »

ValleyBell wrote:If it works in an offical build of M1, I can compare the sources between the two versions and maybe fix it, though.
Is there any hope for Tumblepop, then? I'm not sure if FoxM1's source is public, though.
Also known as nineko.
  • User avatar
  • Knurek Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56

Post by Knurek »

Valley Bell, would it be possible to add a 'turbo' logging mode, which would log the VGMs as fast as possible to emulate the system (without sound output). Would work nicely with a set duration to log (say, 10 minutes), after which you could trim the resulting files with vgmlpfnd et al.
  • User avatar
  • ValleyBell Offline
  • Posts: 4826
  • Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
  • Location: Germany

Post by ValleyBell »

IIRC I already thought about that a long time ago, but never tried to do it.

I'm using Windows 7, so I simply muted M1 and made it play each song for some minutes (via list files) while doing other things.
This should also work on Vista, but it doesn't work in XP or lower.

But that would be a nice feature indeed.
  • User avatar
  • RichterEX2 Offline
  • Posts: 192
  • Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
  • Location: Georgia, USA

Post by RichterEX2 »

I tried ripping Battle Garegga and Captain America & The Avengers. But it seems OKI-M6295 isn't yet fully supported.
  • User avatar
  • Knurek Offline
  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: 2011-12-30, 1:01:56

Post by Knurek »

RichterEX2 wrote:I tried ripping Battle Garegga and Captain America & The Avengers. But it seems OKI-M6295 isn't yet fully supported.
Battle Garegga uses some custom bank-switching code, and as such isn't supported at the moment (sadly, since it has a awesome score).
  • User avatar
  • MusicFox Offline
  • Posts: 147
  • Joined: 2012-05-04, 13:55:03
  • Location: Seattle
  • Contact:

Post by MusicFox »

I don't know how to load ROMS into the program. I can't run it in command line.
  • User avatar
  • ValleyBell Offline
  • Posts: 4826
  • Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
  • Location: Germany

Post by ValleyBell »

I recommend to open Notepad and paste the following:

Code: Select all

m1 romname
pause
romname is the file name of a zip file in the roms folder, without the ".zip".
e.g. If you want to listen to Out Run, your zip file is named outrun.zip (this must follow the MAME name convention, else it doesn't work), so the line needs to be m1 outrun.

Then save it as "m1_run.bat" (Be sure to select File Type: All Files (*.*), else it will save it as m1_run.bat.txt)

Now double-click the new bat-file and M1 will play in a console window.


If you now want to log VGMs, insert a -g in between m1 and romname. Example:

Code: Select all

m1 -g outrun
pause
  • User avatar
  • neologix Offline
  • Posts: 211
  • Joined: 2012-04-22, 4:03:45
  • Location: New York, NY, USA

Post by neologix »

i'd like to note that, for some games, you'd need to use an m1 specific version of the rom to play; there are ~1950 games that are listed in m1.xml, and the m1 versions of these are basically sound rom only. visit e2j.net for updates to m1.xml and the *.lst files.
Post Reply