vgmrips

The forum about vgm files
It is currently 2017-02-22, 23:54:18

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 256 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-03-23, 17:52:42 

Musicians Musicians
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-10-07, 3:33:28
Posts: 32
Location: Canada
Thanks to both of you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-04-02, 19:38:56 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2015-08-30, 14:24:00
Posts: 66
Location: Scotland
Two issues.

The program does not emulate some Game Boy VGMs correctly. I've attached an untrimmed VGM from the Game Boy version of Side Pocket, for proof. I've brought it up on IRC before, and ctr told me it's an emulation issue or something like that.

The second issue is more minor. Why does in_vgm play C140 VGMs at a lower quality than VGMPlay does?


Attachments:
DMG-SWA_02.vgm [81.03 KiB]
Downloaded 34 times

_________________
I'm HarmoDevil. Formerly Dr Devil, but I still use the drdevil username here. I think I'm the youngest VGM ripper on this site lol.

Check out my Soundcloud.

My goal is to rip VGMs for all Sega System 16 and 24 games by the end of the year.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-04-02, 22:08:27 

Contributors Contributors
Staff Staff
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2013-07-17, 23:32:39
Posts: 141
The second issue is because you have your Chip Sample Mode set to "native". Go into your in_vgm settings, first tab, set Chip Sample Mode to "highest".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-04-02, 23:04:31 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-01-03, 2:10:28
Posts: 263
I noticed now look at the post, Castle of Dragon will play correctly when set to "native".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-04-02, 23:27:11 

Contributors Contributors
Staff Staff
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2013-07-17, 23:32:39
Posts: 141
Yes, that is some strange behavior with the X1-010 chip that causes some packs only to work with "native" sample rate. But other chips should be fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-04-03, 1:22:01 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2601
Location: Germany
That's a race condition, caused by the way the tracks are looped.
The sound engine waits for the X1-010 chip to send a "sample finished" signal and restarts the song then.
But due to how the sound chip works, sending the "start" command just 1 sample too early results it the command being ignored.
I'll work on a patch for that as soon as I get time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-05-04, 12:13:56 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Musicians Musicians
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2011-12-01, 20:20:07
Posts: 2601
Location: Germany
So, here is a official release of VGMPlay/in_vgm 0.40.7. Links are in the OP.

Here a small summary of the most important updates: (details can be found in VGMPlay_Updates.txt)
  • improvements for emulation of: SAA1099, ES5503, YMF278B FM part, X1-010 (fixes PCM streams with non-native sample rate)
  • fixed bugs related to muting channels in SAA1099, GA20, SN76489
  • new C352 sound core thanks to ctr
  • added a few options to the .ini files (disable C352 rear channels, disable in_vgm tag cache, hard-stop non-looping VGMs <1.50)
Enjoy!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-05-04, 15:39:18 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2015-06-08, 20:42:22
Posts: 20
Location: Argentina
Thank you very much for the update. :D
Question, how long might it take for foo_input_vgm to update after in_vgm.dll?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-05-04, 15:51:16 

Contributors Contributors
Artists Artists
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-03-30, 9:28:37
Posts: 180
Location: Hagan, GA, USA
kyusawamura wrote:
Thank you very much for the update. :D
Question, how long might it take for foo_input_vgm to update after in_vgm.dll?

That's handled by a Japanese user by the name of Nakami (I think). They'll probably update it as soon as they find out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-05-04, 16:49:08 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2014-01-28, 5:51:54
Posts: 419
Congrats on new release!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-05-05, 8:55:23 

Contributors Contributors
Offline

Joined: 2015-06-18, 22:26:41
Posts: 39
kyusawamura wrote:
Thank you very much for the update. :D
Question, how long might it take for foo_input_vgm to update after in_vgm.dll?


It's available now: http://ux.getuploader.com/foobar2000/do ... m_v0.26.7z


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-05-05, 11:15:47 

Staff Staff
Programmers Programmers
Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2014-01-28, 5:51:54
Posts: 419
thanks for the foo update too, that was quick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-06-17, 18:30:11 
Offline

Joined: 2016-06-17, 18:18:01
Posts: 2
Hi!

I'm the authour of BZR Player ( bzrplayer.blazer.nu ) and is trying to incorporate VGMPlay.

I've compile using mingw32 and made my own makefile and defined ENABLE_ALL_CORES. It compiles fine and music files are read properly (I can get system name, title etc. fine) but I don't get any sound at all, just silence. Basically this is my code:

Code:
/*Load method*/
Load file
VGMPlay_Init();
VGMPlay_Init2();
PlayVGM();
/* play method*/
int RetSamples = FillBuffer((WAVE_16BS*)buffer, 512);


Is there anything obvious I'm missing? I'm guessing the ini/settings file isn't mandatory to parse since all variables seems to have good default values.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-06-19, 15:07:00 
Offline

Joined: 2016-06-17, 18:18:01
Posts: 2
Ah, I found out the problem!

VGMPlay_Init() should be called before OpenVGMFile().


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 2016-12-13, 23:23:23 

Contributors Contributors
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 2012-01-03, 2:10:28
Posts: 263
I noticed ripping Bells & Whistles, but the stereo channel of K053260 is swapped.

BTW:Sunset Riders music is mono (Except for Attract Mode BGM), You can set it to stereo in service mode.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 256 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 14, 15, 16, 17, 18  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group