Skip to content

VGM logging help - Atari Off the Wall

Technical discussion about the VGM format, and all the software you need to handle VGM files.

Moderator: Staff

• i86time Offline

VGM logging help - Atari Off the Wall

Post by i86time »

Hello all,
I'm having issues with how to log music from Atari's Off the Wall. I'm new to this, and recently found M1 (and the Bridge frontend). I know that M1 has been deprecated and logging is supposed to be done with modified MAME/MESS, but this game does not have a sound test that allows playback of music and FX, so I'm not sure how to proceed without M1.

In my look into logging this title, I have noticed that the majority of the level music is split between two tracks, the main music with loops which, when played or logged with Bridge, does not end. This is followed by a 2nd short track which is a few notes or bars, which end the loop when the level is completed, and those tracks end on their own (do not loop). The odd thing is some of the looped music tracks have very short loops, while others are long. Sometimes there is a first "loop" which is followed by a 2nd playthrough that differs slightly by the addition of instruments/voices, making for a longer true loop. One track, 32 (20 hex) does this, and because of multiple tempo changes, it seems to produce a loop which is about 3 hours.

The exceptions to this (other than the attract music) are track 12 (0C hex) which loops for about 10m53s and track 26 (1A hex) that loops for about 3h20m, both of which end.

However, I've found 6 tracks that M1 (and Bridge) can play or WAV log, but which produce no sound or file output when -g is used for VGM logging: 33, 41, 43, 45, 47, 52. These are all the 2nd "end" tracks that are about 5s or so. It's not the length though as I am able to VGM log other short tracks fine. Is there any way to get VGMs for those?